IGFA (International Game Fishing Association) Rules Explained

Securing Leader To The Boat?

QUESTION:

Securing the Leader

A crewman’s ability to haul a large fish the last few metres to the boat can be a key component in battles with very large gamefish. The process can also be dangerous if done incorrectly or carelessly, so in order to keep my crew safe I have them tie-off the leader to a cleat rather than take multiple wraps around their hands. Would this technique be IGFA-legal?

ANSWER:

The act of wrapping the leader around a cleat – or any other part of the boat – would disqualify the catch. Specifically, the IGFA rules state that the following act will disqualify a catch: “Attaching an angler’s line or leader to part of the boat or other object for the purpose of holding or lifting the fish.” So while it may make the deckie’s job easier and potentially safer, tying the leader off to the boat is not an IGFA-legal technique.

IGFA Rule Book: Rules Explained:

Securing Leader To The Boat?

Answer supplied by: Jack Vitek
Position: IGFA World Records Coordinator

This question ran in ISSUE 110 of BlueWater magazine: JULY 2015

For the complete feature, including all photos and information captions, you can purchase back-issues here

Scroll to Top