IGFA (International Game Fishing Association) Rules Explained

Multiple Hook-up Landed By Same Angler

QUESTION:

Multiple hook-up landed by same angler

I’m going to be fishing in an area that is notorious for multiple hook-ups. If I get a double hook-up can I leave one rod in the rod holder, fight and release the first fish, and then go on to fight the other?

ANSWER:

The IGFA rules state that, “In the event of a multiple strike on separate lines fished by a single angler, only the first fish fought by the angler will be considered.” Therefore, your second fish would not be considered IGFA legal.

IGFA Rule Book: Rules Explained:

Multiple Hook-up Landed By Same Angler

Answer supplied by: Jason Schratwieser
Position: IGFA Rules

This question ran in ISSUE 87 of BlueWater magazine: SEPT / OCT 2011

For the complete feature, including all photos and information captions, you can purchase back-issues here

Scroll to Top