IGFA (International Game Fishing Association) Rules Explained

Dangling Hook Rigs

QUESTION:

Dangling hook rigs

Several years ago I started experimenting with different hook rigs for my trolling lures. One of the most successful variations I found was using two short-shanked J-hooks, each rigged on its own individual dropper from a ring at the bottom of the main leader. These short droppers dangle within the lure skirts and both hooks are at least partially contained within the skirt material, so would this rig be IGFA-legal?

ANSWER:

The short answer to this question is, “it depends”. IGFA rules permit the use of a maximum of two single hooks for skirted lures, as long as the hooks are not overlapping and are no more than 12 inches (30.5cm) apart when measured from eye to eye. Therefore, if the two hooks are rigged so that they comply with these regulations, this rig would be IGFA-legal. However, if the two hooks are not more than a hook’s length apart (i.e. overlapping), or if the eyes are spaced more than 12 inches (30.5cm) apart, then such a rig would not be IGFA-compliant.

IGFA Rule Book: Rules Explained:

Dangling Hook Rigs

Answer supplied by: 
Position: 

This question ran in ISSUE 126 of BlueWater magazine: SEPT / OCT 2017

For the complete feature, including all photos and information captions, you can purchase back-issues here

Scroll to Top