IGFA (International Game Fishing Association) Rules Explained

Casting For Another Angler

QUESTION:

Casting for another angler

Anyone who has spent a full day casting large poppers to GTs, tuna or other species knows that the casting alone can be very physically demanding. When I’m fishing with lady anglers or young children, I will often cast for them so that they can participate in the fishing action. As soon as the lure hits the water, I hand the rod to the angler and they work the lure back to the boat. If they don’t hook-up, the process is then repeated. My question is, if they catch a fish after I made the cast for them, is that IGFA-legal?

ANSWER:

The IGFA rules state that “from the time that a fish strikes or takes a bait or lure, the angler must hook, fight, and land or boat the fish without the aid of any other persons, except as provided in these regulations”. Therefore, the act of someone other than the angler casting the lure would not disqualify the catch. However, if a fish were to strike a bait or lure before it was handed back to the angler, under IGFA rules the person casting (with rod in hand at the time of strike) is the only person that can fight the fish.

IGFA Rule Book: Rules Explained:

Casting For Another Angler

Answer supplied by: Jack Vitek
Position: IGFA World Records Coordinator

This question ran in ISSUE 103 of BlueWater magazine: MAY / JUNE 2014

For the complete feature, including all photos and information captions, you can purchase back-issues here

Scroll to Top