IGFA (International Game Fishing Association) Rules Explained

Attaching Sinker To Line Or Leader

QUESTION:

Attaching Sinkers to Line

I prefer to pull skirted lures for billfish, but during a recent tournament the bite was slow so we made the switch over to livebait. The fish were holding around a baitball below the surface, so to keep our baits deep we crimped a sinker onto the leader. Is this IGFA-legal?

ANSWER:

Yes, this rig is completely legal by IGFA rules. Many anglers prefer to attach their lead via rubber band, floss, or rigging wire, but any of these techniques are legal. Keep in mind that if the weight is attached to the main line or double line and needs to be removed while fighting the fish, only the angler is allowed to touch the main line or double line. Therefore, it may be easier to attach it to the leader, which by IGFA rules can be touched by anyone. 

IGFA Rule Book: Rules Explained:

Attaching Sinker To Line Or Leader

Answer supplied by: Jack Vitek
Position: IGFA World Records Coordinator

This question ran in ISSUE 109 of BlueWater magazine: MAY / JUNE 2015

For the complete feature, including all photos and information captions, you can purchase back-issues here

Scroll to Top